* See the FODMAP Tips, Dairy Tips and Gluten Free Tips for the ingredient notes above the method.
Something magical happens when you fuse miso and orange together in this low FODMAP orange miso roast veggie & lentil salad. Their flavours combine to create an Asian flavour bomb that keeps you going back for more! We’ve snuck a vegan protein source of canned lentils into this dish which is low FODMAP in small serves.
Cooking Note: Make sure you choose a miso paste that doesn't contain bonito! Also, choose a GF option if needed. You can often find miso paste in the International Aisle of the supermarket or in your local Asian grocery store.
PS... the prep photo shows what we call a Yam in NZ!
What do you call them in your country? Let us know so we can update our ingredient database.
Check the crushed ginger does not contain garlic. Crushed ginger is grated ginger that has been preserved in a jar. You can swap it for fresh ginger if you prefer.
Make sure you use pure maple syrup (low FODMAP) not maple flavoured syrup (potentially high FODMAP).
Miso paste should be found in your local supermarket or Asian food store. We prefer using miso paste that does not include bonito. The ingredients in our miso paste includes: water, soybeans, rice, and salt. Make sure you check the miso paste does not include onion or garlic.
Make your orange juice and orange zest from fresh oranges.
We recommend using canned beetroot in recipes as it is lower in FODMAPs. Canned beetroot is low FODMAP in 60g serves, whereas fresh beetroot is higher in FODMAPs and the serving size must be limited to 20g.
Canned lentils are lower in FODMAPs as the oligosaccharides leach into the brine. Just make sure you drain and rinse them well before using.
Herbs and spices are naturally gluten free, however they can become contaminated during manufacturing processes. If you are highly sensitive to gluten, check the dried herbs and spices do not contain a warning for trace gluten. If you are just on the low FODMAP diet you do not need to worry about this.
Miso paste often contains wheat so make sure you choose a gluten free version that uses rice instead.